Spatio-temporal analysis of tipping points in the socio-ecological system of the North Sea

The North Sea is one of the most intensively used marine areas in the world. In addition to fishing, it is energy generation through offshore wind farms, oil and gas production, shipping, agriculture and tourism which play an important role. The consequences of climate change are also becoming increasingly noticeable. Sudden changes in this complex socio-ecological system (SES) can have far-reaching consequences for nature and humans. The processes and interactions determining the vulnerability of the system to tipping points and regime shifts are still poorly understood.

 

In the SeaUseTip project, the vulnerability of the SES to tipping points is analysed and assessed holistically for the first time using the example of the German North Sea. The analysis will focus on changes in the composition of the fish community.

 

The interdisciplinary approach combines the considerations of the ecological, economic and socio-cultural subsystems. The insights gained will make a significant contribution to assessing the resilience of the overall system in the face of profound ecological changes. On this basis, strategies for sustainable, ecosystem-based management will be developed.

Photos: pxhere.com, unsplash.com/Jonas Jacobsson (fishing net), unsplash.com/Nicholas Doherty (wind farm)

Räumlich-zeitliche Analyse von Kipppunkten im sozio-ökologischen System der Nordsee

Die Nordsee gehört zu den am intensivsten genutzten Meeren der Welt. Dabei spielen neben der Fischerei vor allem die Energiegewinnung durch Offshore-Windparks, Öl- und Gasförderung, der Schiffsverkehr sowie Landwirtschaft und Tourismus eine bedeutende Rolle. Auch die Folgen des Klimawandels werden zunehmend spürbar. Plötzliche Veränderungen in diesem komplexen sozio-ökologischen System (SES) können weitreichende Folgen für Natur und Mensch haben. Die Prozesse und Wechselwirkungen, welche die Anfälligkeit des Systems gegenüber Kipppunkten und Regime-Shifts bestimmen, sind bislang noch wenig verstanden.

 

Im Projekt SeaUseTip wird am Beispiel der deutschen Nordsee erstmalig die Anfälligkeit des SES in Bezug auf Kipppunkte ganzheitlich analysiert und bewertet. Dabei konzentrieren sich die Betrachtungen vor allem auf Veränderungen in der Zusammensetzung der Fischgemeinschaft.

 

Der interdisziplinäre Ansatz verbindet die Betrachtungen der ökologischen, ökonomischen und soziokulturellen Teilsysteme. Die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse werden wesentlich dazu beitragen, die Widerstandsfähigkeit des Gesamtsystems im Angesicht tiefgreifender ökologischer Veränderungen zu bewerten. Auf dieser Basis sollen Strategien für ein nachhaltiges, ökosystembasiertes Management entwickelt werden.

Fotos: pxhere.com, unsplash.com/Jonas Jacobsson (Fischernetz), unsplash.com/Nicholas Doherty (Windpark)